Deer GroAdvantage Driving Services LLC

Thread: Hunting public land

Default Hunting public land

This is a question that I would like to throw out to everyone for their opinion. First a little about myself. I have been hunting the same hunt club in Colleton County for the last 24 years. Our club size has gone down( land size) and many people have changed. However I have always hunted some WMA's land every year during their archery season. Even though taking a deer, does not mean a good day to me, I've always had a "GOOD" day there. I have run into alot of people that used to hunt with clubs but because of the price increase, economy and attitudes about killing deer they have gone to public land. As an archery hunter, I feel that DNR has helped by having archery only hunts later in the season rather than stacked up front. My question is this directed to hunters that primarly hunt public land.

Have you seen an increase of hunters on our WMA's ? If so do you think that it's due to the economy or change of attitudes towards deer hunting in general. If so is this change good for our public land?

Quote Originally Posted by bubblehead View Post
    This is a question that I would like to throw out to everyone for their opinion. First a little about myself. I have been hunting the same hunt club in Colleton County for the last 24 years. Our club size has gone down( land size) and many people have changed. However I have always hunted some WMA's land every year during their archery season. Even though taking a deer, does not mean a good day to me, I've always had a "GOOD" day there. I have run into alot of people that used to hunt with clubs but because of the price increase, economy and attitudes about killing deer they have gone to public land. As an archery hunter, I feel that DNR has helped by having archery only hunts later in the season rather than stacked up front. My question is this directed to hunters that primarly hunt public land.