Meadows EdgeCamera Land, Inc

Thread: Good deer attractant?!?!

Wink Good deer attractant?!?!

Hey everyone...

I am new to SC. I just moved up last week. I have always hunted in states where you are allowed to hunt over corn. If not hunting over corn I would usually get on a good game trail. Do you guys have any advice for what would be a good "attractant" to use other than the yellow gold? I have heard several suggestions to go with a salt lick or other mineral supplement. I am going out to scout this weekend and will probably put out some corn to help with the game camera photos, but I want to get something else out that I will be able to use all season long and keep em comin' in.....

So whats working for yall?!?!

I've always been a proponent of hunting deer based on seasonal habits, travel routes and forage available during different parts of the deer season - going to the deer vs. trying to bring the deer to me. Seems to work for me. Learn the natural food sources that deer prefer in your hunt area such as persimmons & muscadines early, mast crops when they are falling (especially the white oak varieties) and those oh so sweet honey locust pods when they're dropping later in the season. Strive to learn something new every time you walk in the woods. I've been doing this for over 35 years and I learn something new by being observant every time the good Lord blesses me with the ability to venture out. As deer are pressured, learn their escape routes. Try to hunt staging areas instead of directly in open areas - You'll be surprised at the # of deer (especially nice bucks) that hang back in these staging areas before they enter fields/open areas in the evenings. Most important, have fun & share your experiences with friends & the younger generation. Welcome to SC & best of luck in the upcoming season!