Meadows EdgeMeadows Edge
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What kind of bow is recommended for a complete beginner?

Default What kind of bow is recommended for a complete beginner?

The last time I shot a bow I must have been 5 or 6 and the arrow had a suction cup instead of a broadhead.....
    I've been a gun hunter my whole life and now that I live in upstate SC I've been motivated to start archery hunting since the season starts 25 days earlier. I bought a crossbow last year which I used last season and will use this season as well. I'm thinking that I want to try it with a real bow next year.

Any advice on what to start with?
    I'm 6'5 and 300 lbs if that has any bearing on bow selection

Stick with the crossbow. My .02 cents.

They are a lot of good beginner packages out there. Best thing is go to a bow shop so you can be measured for a correct fit. You don't want a bow that don't fit. Bad habits will be hard to break! Don't know where you are from but NP archery on here may could point you in the right direction. It's a whole nother ballgame in your hunt when ya have to draw the bow to shoot, not just aim and pull the trigger. Shoot all the bows you can to find what fits you the best! I like PSE but all make good bows. At your height you will probably need one with a longer drawlength.

Quote Originally Posted by vermontlad View Post
    Stick with the crossbow. My .02 cents.
    You know, I was going to but a buddy of mine talked me into considering a regular bow.
    He told me he crossbow hunted for a long time and finally tried a real bow.
    While he thinks a crossbow is a better tool for killing a deer he says that a regular bow is much more enjoyable.

Thoughts?